Can't Connect to WLAN

Alles rund um COMPUTING inkl. Microcontroller & Co.
Everything about COMPUTING incl. Microcontrollers
Forumsregeln
Bitte beachte die Forumsregeln!

Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon gnicolamola » 21 Mär 2018, 19:37

Every time I boot the FT Community Firmware I can not connect to wifi. When I press the wifi button and then press the button labeled "<unset>" there is no recognition of available wifi networks to join. My only options are to choose the security like open, wpa, wpa2 and enter the Key. Can anyone suggest anything to help me get my FT Community booted Txt Controller connected to wifi?

Thanks,
Giovanni
gnicolamola
 
Beiträge: 8
Registriert: 21 Mär 2018, 19:20

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon PHabermehl » 21 Mär 2018, 21:04

Hello Giovanni, and welcome to the community!

First of all, I assume that the WLAN of your TXT works as expected under the regular firmware, right?

Then, which version of the community firmware do you use? You can find the release information in the "About"-App.

Does the WLAN symbol at the status bar at the top of your TXT indicate that WLAN is active?

Have you tried to exit and re-start the WLAN App?

And ... is your WLAN visible to new devices? Remember, even if you connected with the regular firmware before, the community firmware powered TXT is "unknown" to your WLAN, so you might have to allow connecting new devices at your WLAN access point...

Kind regards
Peter
PHabermehl
 
Beiträge: 870
Registriert: 20 Dez 2014, 23:59
Wohnort: Bad Hersfeld
Alter: 45

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon gnicolamola » 22 Mär 2018, 02:12

Hi Peter,
Thank you for the welcome and response to my question. Yes the regular firmware of my txt has a working WLAN. I'm running community firmware 0.9.3. I have tried exiting and restarting the wifi app. When the community firmware is booted I do see the wifi icon at the top of the TXT screen but I do not see the wifi network available from other devices. I attached a picture of the controller for connecting to wifi. The top level dropdown, which I'm assuming displays connectable wifi networks, doesn't allow me to choose any options. Is this by design?

Thanks,
Giovanni
Dateianhänge
WLAN_Controller_Screen.jpeg
gnicolamola
 
Beiträge: 8
Registriert: 21 Mär 2018, 19:20

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon ski7777 » 22 Mär 2018, 07:35

What happens when you open the WIFI configuration on your mobile phone or laptop? Do you see networks? If no, here is the problem.
What happens if you boot the stock firmware and open the access point scan? Do you see networks? If no, your TXT is broken or you are too far from the access point.
If it works under stock firmware but not with CFW we need to debug more.

Raphael
Benutzeravatar
ski7777
 
Beiträge: 786
Registriert: 22 Feb 2014, 15:18
Wohnort: Saarwellingen
Alter: 16

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon PHabermehl » 22 Mär 2018, 09:04

gnicolamola hat geschrieben:The top level dropdown, which I'm assuming displays connectable wifi networks, doesn't allow me to choose any options. Is this by design?

Thanks,
Giovanni


Giovanni,
Well, if there's a WIFI access point available, it should show up exactly there at the top level dropdown.

I would like to emphasize Raphael's first question:
If you scan for WIFI networks using another device like your mobile phone or a tablet, laptop etc., do you find your access point?
Maybe the problem is not with the TXT and the cfw, but your AP does not allow for new devices to connect, so you might have to check your AP's settings.

Kind regards,
Peter
PHabermehl
 
Beiträge: 870
Registriert: 20 Dez 2014, 23:59
Wohnort: Bad Hersfeld
Alter: 45

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon MasterOfGizmo » 22 Mär 2018, 10:09

That's a known problem of the community firmware. The tool used in the background to scan for networks sometimes returns an empty list. Usually closing the WLAN app and opening it again makes some networks show up.

The CFW is in a pretty broken state since end of last year, so i wouldn't recommend to use it, anyway.
ftDuino, der Arduino für fischertechnik: http://ftduino.de
Benutzeravatar
MasterOfGizmo
 
Beiträge: 1365
Registriert: 30 Nov 2014, 08:44

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon PHabermehl » 22 Mär 2018, 10:22

MasterOfGizmo hat geschrieben:The CFW is in a pretty broken state since end of last year, so i wouldn't recommend to use it, anyway.


He's using 0.9.3, as stated above. No reason to rant about the cfw dev situation, I'm not happy, but can't fix it either.
PHabermehl
 
Beiträge: 870
Registriert: 20 Dez 2014, 23:59
Wohnort: Bad Hersfeld
Alter: 45

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon gnicolamola » 22 Mär 2018, 19:28

Thank you all for the wide response.

If I boot the Factory firmware I do see an access point and can connect to it which allows me to ssh into the box. If I boot the community firmware and then go to the FT standard GUI I can enable the access point but when I try to ssh into the TXT controller it doesnt allow me to connect.

Basically all I would like to do is utilize the community firmware for the python library. If anyone knows a way I can ssh into the TXT controller while using the community firmware I'd be grateful to understand how.

Thanks,

Giovanni
gnicolamola
 
Beiträge: 8
Registriert: 21 Mär 2018, 19:20

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon MasterOfGizmo » 22 Mär 2018, 19:36

Do you have any special non ascii characters in your ssid?
ftDuino, der Arduino für fischertechnik: http://ftduino.de
Benutzeravatar
MasterOfGizmo
 
Beiträge: 1365
Registriert: 30 Nov 2014, 08:44

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon PHabermehl » 22 Mär 2018, 20:36

gnicolamola hat geschrieben:Thank you all for the wide response.


You're welcome - that's what the community is for...

gnicolamola hat geschrieben:If I boot the Factory firmware I do see an access point and can connect to it which allows me to ssh into the box. If I boot the community firmware and then go to the FT standard GUI I can enable the access point but when I try to ssh into the TXT controller it doesnt allow me to connect.


If your TXT is connected to your network under cfw, you don't need to start the FT gui for ssh access. Actually there should be a pop-up when you try to access (username:password ftc:ftc) on the screen, to allow access.

gnicolamola hat geschrieben:Basically all I would like to do is utilize the community firmware for the python library. If anyone knows a way I can ssh into the TXT controller while using the community firmware I'd be grateful to understand how.


If you already have installed the cfw to your TXT, I assume you also already know this: http://cfw.ftcommunity.de/ftcommunity-T ... ial-1.html
Additionally, you could use ftrobopy on your PC to remote-access your TXT, i.e. run python scripts on your PC.

However, this does not solve your initial issue regarding your WLAN access.

So, MasterOfGizmo's point is also very important. Your SSID name should only contain "A-Z, a-z, 0-9", same applies to your WPA key.

Kind regards,
Peter
PHabermehl
 
Beiträge: 870
Registriert: 20 Dez 2014, 23:59
Wohnort: Bad Hersfeld
Alter: 45

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon MasterOfGizmo » 22 Mär 2018, 20:47

Uhm ... is there a known issue with special characters? This was only a guess ....
ftDuino, der Arduino für fischertechnik: http://ftduino.de
Benutzeravatar
MasterOfGizmo
 
Beiträge: 1365
Registriert: 30 Nov 2014, 08:44

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon PHabermehl » 22 Mär 2018, 21:06

MasterOfGizmo hat geschrieben:Uhm ... is there a known issue with special characters? This was only a guess ....


Grau reported this once, if I remember correctly. Or am I wrong?
PHabermehl
 
Beiträge: 870
Registriert: 20 Dez 2014, 23:59
Wohnort: Bad Hersfeld
Alter: 45

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon gnicolamola » 22 Mär 2018, 22:19

My TXT is not connected the network under cfw. And I don't have any non ascii characters in the SSID.
My main intentions here are really to connect the TXT to the WLAN so I can ssh into the community firmware. For some reason my connection is refused even when I try to ssh into the TXT through the usb port. At the first attempt I see the pop up menu to "Allow Connection" on the TXT screen which I Allow but with no luck in getting in.

At this point if anyone can help me either ssh into the community firmware I wont need the WLAN connection.
gnicolamola
 
Beiträge: 8
Registriert: 21 Mär 2018, 19:20

Re: Can't Connect to WLAN

Beitragvon Torsten » 12 Apr 2018, 08:51

Hi Giovanni,

gnicolamola hat geschrieben:[...] Basically all I would like to do is utilize the community firmware for the python library. If anyone knows a way I can ssh into the TXT controller while using the community firmware I'd be grateful to understand how.[...]


If you still could not solve the ssh-access problems with the community firmware and if your main objective only is to run python (2.7) scripts on the TXT this can also be accomplished with the original TXT firmware by simply copying a python interpreter onto the TXT. This will work for all current (4.1.5 to 4.2.4) TXT firmware versions:

Download the package from here: https://www.ftcommunity.de/data/downloa ... _fttxt.zip
First unzip it and then ssh-copy the tar-file to the TXT:

# scp python_for_ftTXT.tar ROBOPro@192.168.7.2:

Then login to the TXT:

# ssh ROBOPro@192.168.7.2

and unpack the tar-archive:

# tar -xf python_for_ftTXT.tar

This will create a file named "python2.7" in the main directory of the TXT (/opt/knobloch).
In addition a subdirectory named "lib" will be created containing all necessary python libraries.

Since the original tar file ("python_for_ftTXT.tar") is rather large, it should be deleted from the TXT after the unpacking process:

# rm python_for_ftTXT.tar

Now python is installed and can be called from the local command line of the TXT:

# LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/knobloch/lib /opt/knobloch/python2.7 <some_python_script.py>

ftrobopy is not included in this package but can easily be ssh-copied into the python-lib directory of the TXT as well:

# scp ftrobopy.py ROBOPro@192.168.7.2:lib/python2.7

Currently only Python 2.7 is available since python 3 is too large to fit into the internal flash memory of the TXT. If you need python 3 you first have to install an SD card in the TXT. If necessary I could provide a python 3 interpreter package as well.

Kind regards,
Torsten
Torsten
 
Beiträge: 161
Registriert: 29 Jun 2015, 23:08
Wohnort: Gernsheim (Rhein-Main-Region)
Alter: 48


Zurück zu Robo Pro / Computing / Software

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: Bing [Bot], fotoopa und 3 Gäste